Wednesday, May 6, 2009

Intent?

Did anyone see the end of the Detroit game last night? If so, what the hell was that? The Red Wings had a clear goal waived off - one that went into the net after the whistle. The excuse was the relatively-new allowance that the ref 'intended' to blow the play dead before the puck went in. Are you kidding me?

I know they are making new rules in terms of penalties because the players are bigger, stronger and faster, but now they are making one because the refs are oversized? 'I was going to blow the whistle but my damned arm is too long and I couldn't get it to my mouth fast enough.' This is ridiculous! If you really want to open a can of worms with this one, this intent crap can easily be used by the refs to help fix matches. I'm not saying that they do or that Brad Watson did in this case, but this certainly should open the avenue of discussion.

And what the hell were those post-final buzzer muggings that were going on? Several Wings were jumped with clear body blows thrown in an attempt to send a message - something this league has decided is verboden this postseason. But let me guess, there will be no supplemental discipline because Colin Campbell 'intended' to go to bed before the game ended ...

5 comments:

jamestobrien said...

Yup, that was flat out laughable. It might be hockey's answer to "The Tuck Rule."

Bob McKenzie said...

Total joke. Watson was actually in a good position behind the net to see that the puck was definitively not under Hiller. Blinded with swine flu?

Pete said...

GREAT use of the word "verboden!"

Truth Serum said...

The "Intent" rule/policy has been around for a few years at all levels of hockey. It may not be the best thing, but it is there in the rule book and Situation Manual.

Jessie said...

Yeah...he saw the puck sitting there but decided to blow the play dead...*rolls eyes*...

The real issue is why have the wings opted to play about 30 minutes per game? Finally they are paying for it.

The Red Wings have had the benefit of the doubt in terms of calls for a loooong time so I am having a hard time feeling sorry for them.

The ref lost sight of it...not sure how or why, but he did. The call was the right one. Lump it.